No Contact and Protective Orders (aka “Restraining Orders”)

A No Contact Order is an effective way for someone being harassed or threatened with physical violence or retribution to seek legal protections.

No Contact Orders, often referred to as Restraining or Protective Orders, require the individual named in the order to stay a certain distance away from the named protected person or persons for a certain period of time, usually about 1 year.

No Contact Orders often include No Contact Orders for children and other household members.

In Allen County, Indiana, protective orders can be filed in person by the one seeking protection. If you’d like to file the forms yourself, please go here:

https://www.in.gov/judiciary/iocs/2645.htm

Fighting a No Contact/Protective Order

Often times, Matt is retained to provide a defense to a protective order. There are numerous reasons why No Contact Orders and Protective Orders are terminated such as when a person petitions the court for protection under false pretenses. A successful defense results in the No Contact or Protective Order being either denied or terminated.

If you have been falsely accused in a No Contact or Protective Order petition, call Matt before the hearing for aggressive representation.

No Contact Orders in Indiana

Emergency Protective Orders can be requested with a maximum duration of 60 days or until a hearing is held. Once a hearing is held, and if a judge or magistrate finds by a preponderance of the evidence that a No Contact or Protective Order is warranted, that order will last for at least 1 year. However, the length of time for the order can be extended for an additional year.

If a person becomes the subject of a No Contact or Protective Order, and he or she comes into contact with the protected individuals named in the order, the State can charge the violator with Invasion of Privacy. The 1st violation charged would be a misdemeanor. Any violations thereafter would be charged as a Felony 6 and could carry up to 2 ½ years in a county jail.

Protective Orders in Ohio

Protective Orders in Ohio can be in effect for up to 5 years but may be extended.

If the person who is barred by a Protective Order from contacting a protected person violates the Protective Order, he or she may be charged with a 1st degree misdemeanor and up to 180 days in jail on a first offense. Repeat violations can potentially lead to that person being charged with a 5th degree felony which, if convicted, could lead to a 12 month prison sentence. In addition, certain violators may be required to wear electronic monitoring devices.

We understand that you (and your loved ones) need to feel safe in situations that have caused you great fear and distress. Sometimes, just filing the petition is distressing and overwhelming.

PROBATION VIOLATION OR WARRANT OUT FOR YOUR ARREST? DON’T HIDE.

Call us at (260) 387-6236

SERVING THESE CITIES AND COUNTIES
IN INDIANA AND OHIO

ARRESTED IN OHIO OR INDIANA?

If you are charged with a crime – or even if you just think you might be charged – the attorney you choose can be the most important decision you make.

Call us at (260) 387-6236

PROBATION VIOLATION OR WARRANT OUT FOR YOUR ARREST? DON’T HIDE.

Call us at (260) 387-6236
United States Marine Veteran

ONCE A MARINE, ALWAYS A MARINE

Matthew’s military service in the United States Marine Corps affords him a tireless work ethic and fighting spirit, and he will bring this experience to your case. You’ll leave your consultation knowing he cares enough to spend time getting to know you and your circumstances.  He fights hard and doesn’t give up.

NITA Master Advocate
Trial Lawyer's College
Million Dollar Advocates Forum
Multi-Million Dollar Advocates Forum

ARRESTED IN OHIO OR INDIANA?

If you are charged with a crime – or even if you just think you might be charged – the attorney you choose can be the most important decision you make.

Call us at (260) 387-6236