Avvo - Rate your Lawyer. Get Free Legal Advice.

Need a DUI Lawyer in Fort Wayne, IN?

Call an experienced trial lawyer. Matt practices in NE Indiana & NW Ohio.

(260) 387-6236

Click this text to start editing. This block is a basic combination of a title and a paragraph. Use it to welcome visitors to your website, or explain a product or service without using an image. Try keeping the paragraph short and breaking off the text-only areas of your page to keep your website interesting to visitors.

A woman in need of a DUI attorney in Fort Wayne, IN

DUI-OWI-OVI 


​Indiana and Ohio drunk driving laws are among America’s most stringent. Matt is well acquainted in OWI/DWI law and will aggressively defend you against these charges. A DUI-OWI-OVI conviction could cost you your driver's license, raise your auto insurance premiums, force you to enter substance abuse education programs or even cost you your job and loved ones. Matt will use an aggressive, commonsense defense against your drug or OWI-DUI-OVI charges. He will work to have them reduced or dismissed.


Your freedom is on the line. Call for your free case evaluation:  (260) 387-6236.

Arrested for DUI-OWI-OVI  in Indiana or Ohio?

Call 260-387-6236

What's next? Here's what to expect in Indiana 

when you get a DUI/OVI:


First Offense

You will have to pay court costs and fees in excess of $300. You may receive a jail sentence of up to one year. You will be fined up to $5,000. Your license may be suspended up to two (2) years, or You may be placed on probation and be required to enroll in & pay for a substance abuse education course. Your license may also be suspended for a minimum of 30 days followed by a 180-day probationary period  in which you can only drive for employment purposes. You may be required to attend a victim impact panel. You may be required to submit to urine testing for drugs and alcohol. You may also face other terms of probation.


Second Offense

You will be imprisoned for a minimum of five days or up to three years, and/or be required to perform community service. You will be fined up to $10,000. Your license will be suspended at least 180 days and up to two years. You will also face other terms of probation listed under first offense.


Third Offense

You may be imprisoned for a minimum of 10 days and up to three years and/or be required to perform community service. You will be fined up to $10,000. Your license will be suspended for a least one year and may be suspended  for up to 10 years. You may be adjudged as a habitual traffic violator. You may be charged and sentenced as a habitual substance offender, for which you may be imprisoned for an additional term of one year and up to an additional eight years. You will also face other terms of probation listed under first offense.

Source: https://www.in.gov/cji/2385.htm

Arrested for OVI in Ohio ?

Call 260-387-6236


After Annie's Law passed in April of 2017, Ohio's OVI penalties became more stringent. Annie’s law, named after Annie Rooney a Chillicothe, OH attorney,  was enacted in Ohio and went into effect April 6, 2017. Ms. Rooney was hit and killed in 2013 by a multiple OVI offender with a blood alcohol level more than twice the legal limit. Changes to Ohio penalties include the length of suspension periods, the way jail time is imposed & an increase in the look-back period for enhancing DUI penalties. Prior to Annie's Law, Ohio had a twenty year look back and a six year look back for multiple offender enhancement purposes. When a sixth OVI is obtained within a 20-year period,  that charge becomes a felony. The six year look back applied to enhancement of penalties for OVI offenses two through four.  What was once a six year look back period  is now ten years.  In the past, getting four OVIs within a ten-year period was not a felony; the fourth had to be charged within six years of the last conviction. Now, being charged for a fourth OVIs within a ten-year period can be charged as a felony.

Here's what to expect in Ohio

when you get a DUI/OVI:


First OVI Offense:

1 to 3 years, but the court can reduce the suspension 

by up to half if the offender gets unlimited driving privileges with interlock

Second OVI Offense:  1 to 7 years

Third OVI Offense:  2 to 12 years

Arrested for OVI DUI in Northeast Indiana

Arrested for Operating 

a Motor Vehicle while Intoxicated?

Don't wait to call.

260.387.6236

So, you were out on the lake with family and friends, having fun. Maybe you had a couple of beers while the kids swam, you & your significant other fished, and your friends partied. Who doesn't want to cut loose to celebrate summer? All in all, you wanted to relax and have a few beers with the people you love the most.  


The party ended abruptly when you were arrested for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated. What should you do? OVI charges are stringent, whether you were charged in Indiana or Ohio. The very first action you should take is to call an attorney. Matt is a Trial Lawyer with over 20 years' experience in several counties in both Indiana and Ohio. Matt will use an aggressive, commonsense defense against your drug or OWI-DUI-OVI charges. He will work to have them reduced or dismissed.


Your freedom is on the line. Call for your free case evaluation:

 (260) 387-6236.