The Penalties of a DUI, OWI, and OVI Charge
Indiana’s Top-Rated DUI Defense Lawyers
When you get arrested for drunk driving, or as the law calls it, DUI (driving under the influence), OWI (operating while intoxicated), or OVI (operating a vehicle impaired) in Indiana, you need to act fast to prevent serious consequences. You’ll need a proper defense lawyer to take on the serious charges you’ll be facing. Only a reputable law office can help you obtain the best option for your case to avoid or reduce your license suspension. And who better to provide a solid DUI defense and representation than Matthew W. Chapel, Trial Lawyer?
DUI Charges in Fort Wayne, IN
Indiana law defines intoxication as someone who is under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug other than alcohol or a controlled substance, toxic substances, nitrous oxide, any combination of the substances previously mentioned, or any other substance that impairs a person’s normal faculties. This is determined by a breath test offered by a police officer if they have probable cause to believe that a person is driving or operating a vehicle while intoxicated.
The BAC (blood alcohol content) legal limit is .08% for individuals 21 and over, .04% for commercial drivers, and .02% for the underaged. If the individual is caught over the legal limit, they may be charged, fined, and jailed depending on several circumstances.
Frequently Asked Questions
What Are the Consequences of a Second DUI,OVI, and OVI Charge in Indiana?
In Indiana, the consequences of a DUI or OWI can vary depending on whether or not it’s the individual’s first offense. Other factors include their age and if there were other injuries or deaths involved in the incident. You can also expect the consequences to be more severe if you already have a prior DUI conviction.
First-time offenders could result in jail for up to a year plus additional penalties and fines. Your license can also get revoked for up to two years. Those who already have a previous DUI offense will get at least five days up to three years in jail. They’ll also face higher fines and penalties with their licenses suspended for at least 180 days up to two years. Third-time offenders will face between 10 days to 10 years in jail with higher fines and penalties.
Is a Second DUI/OVI Charge a Felony in Indiana?
Indiana law states that a second DUI charge is considered a Level Six Felony if it occurred within seven years of the first DUI conviction. This means the charge carries a penalty of between six months and 2.5 years in the Indiana Department of Corrections.
Do You Need a Criminal Defense Attorney for a Second DUI/OVI Charge in Indiana?
Getting a DUI charge is a serious matter that can lead to serious negative consequences if not handled properly. You’ll need an experienced defense attorney to guide you, and our legal team is more than capable of securing the best outcome for your case. We’ll explore all legal options on your behalf.
The Best Legal Team for Your Case
You’ll need to work with a capable legal team who can help reduce your suspension period and secure a better alternative that won’t affect your future. Call Matthew W. Chapel, Trial Lawyer for top-rated DUI defense and litigation services in Fort Wayne, IN. You can reach us at (260) 387-6236, or fill out our convenient online form to schedule a consultation.