Facing a DUI, OWI, or OVI Charge in Ohio?

Our Best DUI Defense Legal Team Has Your Back

The consequences of drunk driving can vary for each state, especially in Ohio. The penalties you’ll face once you get convicted for DUI (or OWI in Ohio) are also a bit different. You’ll need to act quickly if you want to avoid serious consequences such as a license suspension and a DUI/OVI conviction on your permanent record. You’ll need to work with a top-rated law office such as Matthew W. Chapel, Trial Lawyer who can represent your case and provide a solid DUI defense.

DUI/OVI Charges in Ohio

Like most states, Ohio law defines driving under the influence as a criminal offense. But while other states refer to the crime as either DUI (driving under the influence) or DWI (driving while intoxicated or impaired), you get a different charge in Ohio. If you drive while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs in the state, you’ll be charged with an OVI (operating a vehicle impaired).

You may get charged after failing a breath test offered by a police officer that pulled you over. They’ll ask you to take it if they have reason to believe you’re driving while intoxicated. If the blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08% or greater, you’ll be charged with OVI. You’ll also get charged if you’re caught driving while under the influence of any controlled substance, alcohol, or combination of the two.

If it’s your first offense, it will be categorized as a first-degree misdemeanor with unique sentencing. This means you’ll face either a mandatory jail term of at least three days or a driver intervention program. Your license will be suspended for at least a year and face an additional jail term of up to 180 days depending on the circumstances of your offense. 

Frequently Asked Questions

What Are the Consequences of a Second OVI Charge in Ohio?

If you had one prior OVI/DUI conviction in the past 10 years, the new charge will be considered your second OVI offense. You’ll face more severe penalties in terms of mandatory confinement, fines, suspension, and additional jail sentencing upon conviction. To give you an idea, your mandatory jail sentence will be increased to 20 days depending on your chemical test result, and your license gets revoked for up to seven years. Of course, avoiding this is possible if you work with an experienced professional lawyer.

Are DUI/OVI Charges Considered a Felony in Ohio?

Ohio law can classify an OVI charge as a felony under certain circumstances. For instance, your case is classified as a felony if you were previously convicted of four DUI/OVI charges within 10 years or six within 20 years. The penalties are much more serious as well, so you’ll face a minimum jail sentence of 60 days up to 30 months and a minimum three-year license suspension.

Do You Need a Criminal Defense Attorney for a Second DUI/OVI Charge in Ohio?

negative consequences if not handled properly. Only an experienced legal team can guide you through your case and help avoid a conviction on your permanent record. Our defense lawyers have the expertise to thoroughly explore your legal options and secure the best outcome for your case.

Contact Us Today

You’ll need to work with a capable legal team who can help reduce your suspension period and secure a better alternative that won’t affect your future. Call Matthew W. Chapel, Trial Lawyer for top-rated DUI defense and litigation services in Ohio. You can reach us at (260) 387-6236, or fill out our convenient online form to schedule a consultation.